In accordance with Florida Statute 1009.26(12)(a) and Florida Board of Governors Rule 7.008(3)(m), all undergraduate students may request an out-of-state tuition fee waiver provided they have attended a secondary school in Florida for three consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in Florida and have applied for enrollment at a Florida institution of higher education within 24 months after high school graduation.
Please submit the required documentation to verify eligibility for this waiver:
Students seeking an undergraduate degree are eligible for this waiver if they attended a Florida secondary school for three consecutive years immediately preceding their graduation from a Florida high school, and who also applied for admission to a state university or Florida College System institution within 24 months of high school graduation.
An official high school transcript, showing verification of graduation from a Florida high school, is required to verify eligibility.
No. The waiver applies to all students who meet the eligibility criteria, regardless of immigration status.
Should the student be classified as a non-Florida resident for tuition purposes before eligibility for the waiver is determined?
Yes. The student's official residency status should be determined before the out-of-state tuition waiver is applied. Students who receive the waiver are classified as non-Florida residents.
Are students who attended a private secondary school in Florida for three consecutive years eligible for the waiver?
Yes. Students who attended any secondary school in Florida, including both public and private schools, are eligible provided that they meet all the eligibility requirements.
No. Home education students are not eligible to receive the waiver as one of the eligibility requirements is that the student attended a Florida secondary school.
Yes, so long as the student meets all the eligibility requirements.
What does it mean for the waiver to be applied to "110 percent" of the requirement credit hours of the degree or certificate program?
Students may enroll using the waiver for the number of credit hours that would equal 110% of the total number of credit hours required for their degree or certificate program. As an example, most bachelor's degree programs require 120 credit hours to complete, which means the waiver would cover up to 132 hours.
Are students who receive the waiver required to maintain continuous enrollment in order to keep the waiver?
No. A student who meets the waiver requirements will remain eligible for the waiver until they reach the 110 percent limit.